Global Information Society Watch 2018
Community Networks


Operational team
Roxana Bassi (APC)
Valeria Betancourt (APC)
Kathleen Diga (APC)
Alan Finlay (APC)
Michael Jensen (APC)
Carlos Rey-Moreno (APC)

APC project coordination team
Namita Aavriti (APC)
Roxana Bassi (APC)
Valeria Betancourt (APC)
Kathleen Diga (APC)
Anriette Esterhuysen (APC)
Flavia Fascendini (APC)
Alan Finlay (APC)
Chat Garcia Ramilo (APC)
Michael Jensen (APC)
Carlos Rey-Moreno (APC)

GISWatch 2018 advisory committee
Carlos Baca (REDES)
Luca Belli (FGV)
Jane Coffin (ISOC)
Kazanka Comfort (Fantsuam Foundation)
Stéphane Couture (York University)
Alison Gillwald (Research ICT Africa)
Michuki Mwangi (ISOC)
Leandro Navarro (PANGEA)
Dorothy Okello (WOUGNET/Makerere University)
Nico Pace (AlterMundi)
Steve Song (Village Telco/Rhizomatica)
Ritu Srivastava (DEF)

Project coordinator
Kathleen Diga / Roxana Bassi (APC)

Alan Finlay
Assistant editor and proofreading
Lori Nordstrom (APC)
Publication production support
Cathy Chen (APC)

Graphic design
Phone: +598 2400 1685

Cover illustration
Matías Bervejillo

This work was carried out with the aid of a grant from the International Development Research
Centre (IDRC), Ottawa, Canada, as part of the APC project “Community access networks: How to
connect the next billion to the Internet”.  
The views expressed herein do not necessarily represent those of IDRC or its Board of Governors.
International Development Research Centre
Centre de recherches pour le développement international

Financial support provided by

This edition of GISWatch came into being alongside a brand
new baby boy. Welcome to the world, Ronan Diga!

Published by APC
Printed in USA
Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)
Some rights reserved.
Global Information Society Watch 2018 web and e-book
ISBN 978-92-95113-06-0
Disclaimer: The views expressed in the introduction, thematic and country reports
of GISWatch are not necessarily the views of APC or of its members.